Medusa at the lawyer’s office

Mr Ovid, my lawyer, says

the new is worse today, as

i enter pale and smaller than before

i squirm in the chair as Mr Ovid takes

notes on his yellow legal pad   …. draws

conclusions i cannot see

.

i keep my knees pressed tight

my lawyer cannot seem meet my eyes

my lawyer assures i have my rights

though it seems my ex holds his lawful

shield tight to protects his ass; his assets

from those aforesaid rights

water tight

my head sets off again in all directions

snaking, buzzing, hissing, roaring

i can’t hear anything

i can’t

seem to take in

.

i’m blind

i’m blind-sided

by the opposing side, axed

i feel serpentine; queasiness rises

swallow my own bile, try for a smile

at Mr Ovid’s assurances, from across the divide

.

my lawyer explains as paradigms shift

my stomach sideways, as

the news is worse today, again, again

since the assault, the pillage, the severing began…. it gets worse

i’m blind to see how

Mr Ovid knows

i’m set in stone

written in as a ruinous, monstrous, breaker of home and hearth

but a beauteous one; a winsome catch

worth the wait

my lawyer knows

 i’ll have to pay, either way

my lawyer explains all this

.

i squeeze tight closed my eyes

as poisons seep deep within my pale green skin

i writh within

light headed light leaving my body like a Pegasus

taking flight

i leave my lawyer’s office

again

today

he proffers me a date

.

btw

april 30 2024

Crispin School, Street, Somerset, UK

.

https://www.napowrimo.net

Day 30 prompt :- write a poem in which the speaker is identified with, or compared to, a character from myth or legend, as in  Claire Scott’s poem “Scheherazade at the Doctor’s Office.”

.

The best-known story of Medusa comes from the Roman poet Ovid.

In the original story, the Medusa was a beautiful woman who held a very positive role. Tragedy fell upon her when she was confronted with endless hardships brought upon by male actions. Medusa was a beautiful woman who was raped, killed and beheaded by various gods. However even in the face of tragedy and disgrace, the Medusa was portrayed as meaningful. Following the moment her head was removed, a Pegasus flew out of her body, representing the birth of beauty.

Just as the Medusa was powerless to fight against the repressive actions forced upon her, so too was she powerless against the continual metamorphosing of the myth which resulted in the more popular Medusa myth commonly known today. In this popular version the Medusa is a monster with hair of a thousand snakes. She is under a curse which causes everything she looks at to turn to stone. Cixous explains that this monstrous image of the Medusa exists only because it has been directly determined by the male gaze. Once Cixous establishes that the myth of the Medusa is nothing more than a facade, she begins to question if the Medusa does in fact have the ability to turn things into stone or if her fearful imagery comes merely from our perception of her, a perception that has manifested itself from male warnings.

17 thoughts on “Medusa at the lawyer’s office

  1. I have learned something new from your notes. So Medussa is a myth in a myth. I love your take from the unpopular story. It made me reflect on the human nature of dwelling more on the bad than good. I was delighted to be in your writing company this year and hoping to meet again in 2025.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Until Next Time!
  3. Hearty congratulations on the feature today.
    This post is fantastic in every way. I love it. Thanks so much for sharing it.
    Being here in the shade of poets like you has been the highlight of my April. I hope we meet again in 2025. Blessings.
    Fantastic Work. 👏🏽 🙇🏽‍♀️

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Congratulations, Barbara! You may enjoy Iris Murdoch’s ‘A Severed Head’ where a Medusa figure is the heroine. Your footnote to your powerful poem is fascinating. Reading a little more about Medusa, her sisters and Athena’s rage toward her provides plenty of room for more discussion and re-interpretation, which is, I suppose why myths evolve and become myths upon myths, with new versions reflecting the society at the time of reworking.
    I like the idea that Medusa’s mortality was such an important aspect of the story, leading to the gods playing with her fate, with such terrible consequences, that were superceded by her giving birth to Pegasus (by whatever means), thus underlining the eternal nature of beauty and spirit regardless of what life, age and fate casts at mere mortals. I was also interested to learn that ships of ancient times would bear an image of Medusa to protect them, so clearly other interpretations exist, where she is thought to be a powerful ally.
    As always, your writing this month, stimulating, provocative and imaginative. Always worth reading.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Congratulations on the feature Barbara! This was so packed and dense, and the other story of Medusa needs to be shared again as we are trying to disentangle from the patriarchy’s gaze. A long way to go as a collective and as individuals, so sorry you have to be going through this. “Courage” (as said in French) – you have this powerful archetype for inspiration. Turn an a**h*** into stone today for all of us!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi there Saffron

      I only just saw that the poem has been featured! 😊😊😊
      Way to go out with a bang!! Yay!

      The poem was more birthed than written. It was a struggle.

      Here’s the good news. All the struggle of divorce is in my rear-vision window now. Went through and out the other side, and didn’t die!

      The experience taught me so much.

      Medusa chose me yesterday, came through me, channeled me and anchored me.
      Someone needed to change the gaze on her and on all of us. We must reclaim our true selves, our stories, and expose the monsters that transpose their own ugly deeds onto us
      I pity them.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow. Just… wow. And not just the poem itself (which is amazing, BTW) — the explanation of the difference between the “traditional” story of Medusa (including as I recall, being one of the Labors of Hercules) and the one cited here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment